Call for posts, and for hosts!

by

Well, the cat’s outta the bag! While I was recovering from my sadly ironic auto accident, Greg Laden scooped us on our announcement (dang you internets bloggers; how do you find these things out?! 🙂 ). We’re now calling for entries to the first “The Giant’s Shoulders” classic science blogging event!

The first event will be hosted by Coturnix at A Blog Around The Clock, and entries will be due on the 15th of July. For the first event, tradition dictates that you can submit any relevant posts you like, new or old, even including things that appeared in the “Classic paper challenge“! Send your links to Coturnix to get things going (I’ve got some really kewl stuff to blog about).

For some guidelines on what constitutes a “classic” paper, read the ‘about’ page on this blog, and check out the “Classic paper challenge“.

On a related note, we’ll also need volunteers to host future incarnations of the event! If you’re interested in hosting in the future, let us know right here, or send an email.

17 Responses to “Call for posts, and for hosts!”

  1. Martin Says:

    I’d be more than happy to pitch in and host!

  2. skullsinthestars Says:

    Martin: Great! I’ll add you to the list!

  3. Martin Says:

    Awesome, looking forward to it already. This is a superb idea for carnival, so I’ll be curious to see how it goes

  4. dr. dave Says:

    I’d love to post or host. I have a folder full of 200+ primary sources from the history of physics just waiting to be written about.

  5. skullsinthestars Says:

    dr. dave said: “I’d love to post or host.”

    Why not both? I’ll add you to the hosting list, and you can submit to a carnival whenever you feel ready!

  6. Belated carnival announcements | Neural Gourmet Says:

    […] Circle. Finally, a new blog carnival is getting started focusing on classic science papers: The Giant’s Shoulder’s. #Redonkulous RedundancyIt’s high time I mentioned Redonkulous Redundancy, the new blog of former […]

  7. podblack Says:

    Happy to help out, probably end of year? Podblack.

  8. skullsinthestars Says:

    podblack: Great! I’ll add you to the list of hosters!

  9. Greg Laden Says:

    Sorry, I didn’t know the announcement was embargoed!

  10. skullsinthestars Says:

    Greg Laden wrote: “Sorry, I didn’t know the announcement was embargoed!”

    Ah, it wasn’t, really! I’m just continually amazed at (and amused by) how people manage to find out about things on the intertubes, even when they haven’t yet been advertised!

  11. John Dennehy Says:

    Love this series! Sign me up for hosting…

  12. skullsinthestars Says:

    John: You’re in for March of next year!

  13. Yoo Says:

    The next open slot might be almost half a year away, but I would still love to volunteer my blog for hosting …

  14. rensenieuwenhuis Says:

    Hi there, I’d love to host one of the carnivals in the (very distant?) future!

  15. Rense Nieuwenhuis Says:

    Oh, and yes I know how to reply with an URL to my site 🙂

  16. The Secret of Newton Says:

    I’d be delighted to host. I’m currently writing a historical fiction novel about Newton and am immersed in “old” science.

  17. “The Giant’s Shoulders”: call for entries and hosts! | Skulls in the Stars Says:

    […] a related note, we'll also need volunteers to host future incarnations of the event! I've put a call for hosts on the new blog, so drop on by there and let us know if you're interested in hosting in the […]

Leave a comment